Florida insurance laws are quite different from the requirements in other states, so it is important that you understand exactly what your insurance requirements are before choosing a policy. The following tips will help you make the best decisions when it comes to finding car insurance in fl.
Florida requires all drivers who register vehicles with four or more wheels to carry insurance coverage on their vehicle. Unlike most other states, Florida only requires two types of coverages to legally operate a vehicle.
No Fault or Personal Injury Protection
No Fault, or PIP insurance is required in Florida. All drivers must carry a minimum of $10,000 PIP insurance. This insurance provides coverage in several different instances, regardless of who is at fault in the accident, including:
- Household members, children, or other passengers that are not covered under another PIP policy, and do not own their own vehicle.
- PIP provides coverage for people who are driving your vehicle with your permission
- Children who are injured while riding the school bus
- If you are riding in another person’s vehicle and are injured
- If you are injured by another vehicle while riding a bicycle or walking
Property Damage Liability or PDL Insurance
PDL is another type of insurance that is required in the state of Florida. This insurance provides coverage for any damages that you or someone driving your car with your permission may cause to someone else’s property during a crash. This can include damages to their vehicle, fence, mailbox, or other personal property that might be damaged due to an accident involving your vehicle. Drivers must carry a minimum of $10,000 in coverage for this insurance as well.
Even though Florida only requires PIP and PDL insurance, many drivers also opt for Bodily Injury Liability insurance as well. This type of policy covers the costs of serious injuries, permanent injuries, or those that result in death that you cause while driving your vehicle. This type of coverage will increase the cost of your Florida insurance, but it will protect you from legal proceedings if you cause a serious accident. If you do not have this coverage, and you cause serious injury or death, you will be responsible for paying all medical or funeral costs out of your own pocket.
If you move to Florida from another state, you will need to make sure that you are carrying Florida insurance, rather than a policy that was issued in a different state. Before moving to Florida, you should find out whether your current insurance provider can transfer your current policy to an agent in Florida, or whether you will need to cancel that policy and find a new carrier in Florida.
If you keep these tips in mind, you will be able to find car insurance in fl that provides the minimum required coverages, as well as any additional coverages you may want.