What You Need To Know About Florida Auto Insurance That May Be Different Than Other States
If you have relocated to Florida from another state as most retirees tend to do, or if you have come to the fine State of Florida for other reasons like school or work, there are some things you need to know about Florida auto ins. that may be different that what you are used to. In other states like New Hampshire, there are certain guidelines that do not always make it necessary to have certain types of coverage at all, but not so in Florida. We put together some things you need to know to make sure you understand what is required so you are not out of compliance with regulations.
What Is Required for Personal Injury Protection
Aside from the usual collision coverage that protects you if you impact someone else’s car and cause damage, there is also personal injury protection that needs to be considered so that if you or someone in the accident is injured, that you are protected from loss and you are not sued for damages. The State of FL regulations have their own requirements for minimum coverage that you need to be aware of.
The absolute minimum coverage that you as the automobile owner can have is $10,000 per person who is injured. In some cases, depending on what kind of coverage you buy, you can have personal injury protection deductibles of over $2,000 so be sure you understand what needs to be covered and what kinds of policies you can obtain that will minimize your out-of-pocket expenses. Less coverage purchased may mean a lot more money out of your wallet in the event of claim. If you injure a pedestrian or a bicyclist, those types of accidents are covered under your personal injury coverage, you are also covered if someone commits a crime of bodily injury to you in the event of road rage or a car-jacking. Weigh the options in the right way by talking to a qualified agent before you make your final decisions.
The Necessary Personal Property Protection You Need To Have
Just like personal injury protection minimums, you need to have a certain amount of coverage for personal property. This will also curtail any claims against you in court regarding damages to personal property. This line item on your policy also carries a regulation of a minimum of $10,000 dollars for claims. It might seem like a lot but it is not. These kinds of expenses can add up very quickly. It is important to sift through with an agent what the statistical average of a personal property claim is so that you can consider what amount of coverage that you should have. Being covered now, means that you aren’t sweating the details later, should you need to file a claim.
What Is Required For Damage To Fixed Property
For types of damage to property outside of personal property like a fence, mailbox or telephone pole, the State of Florida auto insurance regulations require you to carry a minimum of $500 dollars of Property Damage Liability coverage. This policy coverage will cover you in the state if you are driving someone else’s car as long as you have coverage and in most cases it will be covered under your policy if you give someone else permission to drive your car and they cause damage to fixed property. This amount of money to cover damages is not very much at all. Talk to your agent about how much should be carried for adequate coverage and what the stipulations of coverage are.
If You Have Had A Prior DUI?
In the case of a driver who has never been convicted, Bodily Injury Liability coverage is not necessary. However, if you have had a prior conviction you must carry this coverage in the State of Florida for a period of 3 years after you have legally regained your driving privileges and had your license reinstated. There is also a minimum amount of coverage that you must have as well. If you received your conviction prior to or on the date of October 1, 2007 according to law you are required to have at least $10,000 of coverage for each person and a minimum of $20,000 total coverage per accident. Any convictions after the October date are required to carry a minimum of $100,000 per person and $300,000 in total coverage per accident. If you have had a DUI conviction in another state, it is important to be honest with your carrier about your prior history and make sure that you are following Florida guidelines properly and fully.
Where Can You Find Your Coverage And Amounts
If you already have a policy in the state of Florida, it is highly likely that your agent has already gone over this with you and you have the proper coverage. Your company is also required to give you a line-by line list of what you have for coverage and how much you are carrying. If you elect to add coverage to your account, your agent can very easily do this for you if in looking over your policy you decide you would like something increased. It is always a good idea to yearly review your coverage as the policy renews to make sure that nothing has been inadvertently been left off.
We hope this list of things you are required to have will make you more familiar with insurance laws now that you will be driving in this state. The state of FL auto insurance industry and regulatory agencies are committed to ensuring that not only you are safe on the road and that everyone is protected in the event of an accident but that you are personally protected from the undue stress and expense of being sued for damages or injury should you be involved in an accident. Welcome to the state and enjoy driving around to take in your new surroundings.