Choose your insurance:


Get Your Instant Florida Insurance Quote Here:

Florida Insurance Quotes

What Can We Help With?

Choose Insurance Type


Privacy Secured

Car Insurance In Florida

Living in Florida chances are you own a car.  Unlike many other states with extensive transportation systems, Florida is one of the few states where driving is the norm.  And as a car owner and driver, you’re probably quite familiar with the way car insurance in Florida works.  You may know, for example, that Florida is one of the few “no fault” states.  What this means is that if you’re in a car accident and suffer bodily injury, your policy covers medical expenses up to a certain amount whether the accident was your fault or not.

You are probably also aware that car insurance in Florida is mandated by law and that the minimum requirements are not as high as in some other states.  Florida law requires a policy coverage of at least $10,000 for personal injury and $10,000 for property damage.  In other states these could be much higher and may include other requirements.

While, you may be quite familiar with the law and minimum requirements and may even have added additional coverage, you may have a teen in your household who may be getting close to becoming a driver.  Now it’s time to think about protecting your child while taking advantage of some of the many discounts out there.


Car Insurance in Florida and children

The thought of having your child become a driver can be really nerve wrecking.  Enrolling your teen in a safe driver program will not only provide some peace of mind for you as a parent but some companies may reward you for it with a discount.  Another way to get some savings is if your child is a good student.  And this is not just for high school students.  Students under the age of 25 who maintain a B average are eligible for the good student discount.

How much or how little your teen drives may be another factor in the price you pay.  And as your child graduates high school and goes to college, there are companies that will offer taking them off your policy while they’re away.  It typically requires that your child’s campus be located at least 100 miles away.  All of these potential discounts have been around for quite a while and you may have been aware of them.  Nowadays, however, new technology is making it possible to add new ways to save that was non-existent not too long ago.  There are electronic devices that can be installed in your teen’s car that can monitor their driving.  This device creates reports that include information such as how many miles the car logs, how many hours it’s on the road, how fast your teen drives, how often he or she slams on the breaks and the like.  This monitoring method alone, if the reports are within certain parameters, can provide savings of up to 30 percent! The type of car you get your teen driver can also have an impact on the amount you pay.  A sport car is definitely more expensive to insure and not a safe choice for a teenager or first time driver.  And although you will save money if you purchase a pre-owned vehicle, it is recommended to purchase models made in 1997 or later, as most companies will offer discounts for features such as airbags and anti-lock brakes


Adding a driver to your policy can certainly be a sizable expense.  Not to mention emotionally dreadful if the driver is young and inexperienced.  However, there are resources available that can make this experience a bit easier on you and your wallet.  Let us do the homework and shop around for you to get the most out of your car insurance policy.

Comments are closed.