Fr44 insurance in Florida is required when a person is applying to reinstate their driver’s license following a DUI or DWI conviction. An FR44 is simply a document that shows financial responsibility proving that you carry coverage. However, an fr44 requires your liability coverage limits to be higher than Florida’s minimum. You may see the term “fr44” a variety of ways. For instance, FR-44 and FR 44. These variations are still the same type of coverage, just written with a different style.
Why do I need FR44?
The state of Florida requires FR44 insurance. Drivers guilty of a DUI will have their license suspended and have quite a cost increase to their auto rates over the next 5 years. The FR44 is aside from all of the usual penalties such as fines, jail time, and license suspension. In order to get your license reinstated, you will have to purchase this.
When is fr44 insurance in Fl required?
There are a few instances in which you will be required to have fr44. Each of these instances is listed below. For the most part, it’s self-explanatory.
- You are caught driving a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- If you are pulled over and caught driving without a license due to it being suspended by a conviction.
- Any violations of federal law or law of any other state or local ordinance.
How do I get an FR44 and how long do I need it?
In order to get fr44 coverage in Florida, you simply need to let your insurance company know when purchasing your policy. As for how long you will need this, an fr44 verifies that you will be carrying double your states minimum liability requirements for the next three years.
A driver convicted of a DUI must have their liability limits increased in place on the day of the offense in order to not owe a reinstatement fee to the state. The reinstatement fee as of 2008 is $150 for the first offense, $250 for the second, and $500 for the third.
How much does fr44 insurance in Florida cost?
As you may already know, insurance rates are determined by many factors. These factors include your driving history, age, and where you live. Requiring an fr44 already deems you as a high-risk driver, which will increase your rates more.
Can I cancel?
By law, an FR44 policy cannot be canceled. If your policy happens to lapse, then your license will be suspended. As mentioned above you will need to keep this for 3 years. When it comes to a fr44 policy in Florida, if you need help understanding or purchasing one, we can help. Simply reach out to one of our friendly agents and they will get back to you as soon as possible. Now that you have a basic understanding of what you need, it should be easy to get what you need!