Every time we drive a vehicle, we expose ourselves to risks on the road. There are road hazards, weather hazards, and other drivers to avoid. We all do our best to prevent accidents, but there are times when threats damage the vehicle on the road. For example, we can avoid driving in hurricanes if given adequate time to prepare, but what about sudden storms? The weather is one reason shoppers should get updated Florida auto insurance quotes.
We will want to ensure our carrier covers the automobile if a flash flood causes damage to the vehicle. The most significant risk of all time is from other drivers simultaneously on the road. For example, drivers distracted by cell phones are not paying attention to the road. Florida auto insurance deals with all these situations. We want to protect the driver and vehicle in an accident.
Florida auto insurance quotes differ significantly from other states, so we must understand our insurance needs before choosing a policy. The following tips will help us make the best decisions regarding finding auto insurance in Florida.
What Does Florida Require in an Auto Insurance Policy?
All drivers who register vehicles with four or more wheels carry insurance coverage on their automobiles. However, unlike most other states, Florida only demands two types of coverage to operate a vehicle legally. An agent will detail this when we get auto insurance quotes in Florida. Furthermore, it is best to understand the laws before speaking with someone.
Personal Injury Protection
Florida is one of the few states that require PIP insurance. As a result, all drivers must carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP insurance. This insurance provides coverage in several different instances, regardless of who is at fault in the accident, including:
- Florida PIP insurance does not cover Household members, children, or other passengers.
- PIP provides coverage for people who are driving our vehicle with permission
- Children who are injured while riding the school bus
- If we are riding in another person’s vehicle and are injured
- If we are wounded by another automobile while riding a bicycle or even walking
Property Damage Liability or PDL Insurance
Florida also requires PDL insurance. This insurance provides coverage for damages we may cause to someone else’s property during an accident. For example, PDL covers damages to their vehicle, fence, mailbox, or other personal property. Drivers must carry a minimum of $10,000 in coverage for this insurance.
Even though Florida only demands PIP and PDL insurance, many drivers opt for Bodily Injury Liability insurance. This type of policy covers the costs of serious injuries, permanent injuries, or those that result in death that we cause while driving our vehicle. This type of coverage will increase the cost of our Florida insurance. Still, it will protect us from legal proceedings if we cause a severe accident. Suppose we do not have this coverage, and we cause severe injury or death. In that case, we will be responsible for paying all medical or funeral costs out of our pocket.
Are There Minimum Requirements in Florida?
There are minimum Florida automotive requirements that every driver and vehicle registered in the State of FL must meet. The first requirement is that every vehicle registered in Florida must have coverage at all times. Even if we are only a seasonal residents of Florida and our automobile goes into storage for part of the year, we still must maintain current coverage on that vehicle. There are fines if coverage lapses, which increase for each occurrence. When we purchase a policy in Florida, the company will notify the state of coverage or if coverage lapses. The state will then suspend the driver’s registration and license.
Florida Auto Insurance Minimums.
The State of FL has established minimum coverage requirements for liability coverage that every driver must maintain at all times. There are two areas where customers must have coverage: personal injury and property damage. The minimum for personal injury protection is $10,000, and the minimum coverage for property damage is $10,000. Additionally, the State of Florida requires that each policyholder carry bodily injury and damage liability in the amounts of $125,000 and $250,000, respectively, and $50,000 for property damage coverage.
This brief overview of the Florida auto insurance requirements provides drivers and vehicle owners in the State of FL a starting point for getting covered. Then, please talk with a Christian Florida Insurance Quotes agent to adequately protect our vehicle at all times.
Florida Auto Insurance Quotes Will Save Everyone Money.
Suppose we move to Florida from another state. In that case, we will need to ensure that we carry insurance issued in Florida. Therefore, before relocating, we should contact Florida Insurance Quotes to transfer our current policy to an agent in Florida. In doing so, we will probably be able to save money.
If we keep these tips in mind, we will find auto insurance in Florida. An extraordinary Florida Insurance Quote policy saves us money on our monthly premium. Do not wait. Click on “Get A Quote” to get started.
Comments are closed.