No two states in the United States are identical when it comes to auto ins laws. It’s very important to fully understand the Florida auto insurance laws when you purchase a policy so that in the event of an accident or a traffic stop that you are fully protected in following all appropriate laws when you are driving in the State of FL.
Minimum Florida auto insurance law requirements
At the bare minimum all drivers must carry the following coverage to meet the minimum requirements. Drivers must have bodily injury coverage of at least $10,000 for single drivers and for two or more people the coverage requirement is $20,000. In addition to bodily injury coverage all drivers must have at least $10,000 liability coverage for any property damage. Additional requirements come into play when there are DUIs, accidents or if a driver’s license has been suspended.
FL Car Rental requirements
Renting a car means that driver must still meet the minimum requirements. Florida auto insurance laws still apply to rental vehicles. When renting a car in the State of FL each renter must make sure that they have the minimum coverage still either by buying from the rental car policies or have a rental car rider on their personal policy.
FL penalties for no coverage
The State of FL clearly outlines the requirements for what is required. If you let your policy lapse then the state can suspend your driver’s license. When your driver’s license is suspended this also means that your vehicle registration is suspended as well. There are penalties that must be paid before both can be reinstated so it is important to make sure there are no lapses in your policy if you reside in the State of Florida.
Florida’s no fault laws
If you drive in the State of FL then you are subject to the state’s no-fault law. The law does not require drivers to carry personal injury, comp/collision or coverage for uninsured motorists. Companies must present the option for customers to buy uninsured motorist coverage and if the customer declines to purchase this option then they must state this election in a declaration page within the policy documentation.
Florida’s laws for households
The State of FL does not mandate that all household members be included in the policy. But just because the state does not require this does not mean that the company will not ask for all drivers in your home. If you have one member with a poor driving history and choose not to list them and they drive your vehicle and get in an accident then there is the possibility that your company will not pay the claim.
Laws vary from state to state so it is import to ensure that you are meeting all appropriate state laws. Familiarize yourself with all the laws so that you do not lose your license or have your registration revoked.