Florida is a no-fault state. Therefore, it follows a “No-Fault” law. However, many people aren’t aware of the ins and outs of the No-Fault law. It is important that you completely understand this process as it is a key step when it comes to purchasing Florida auto insurance.
What is No-Fault Insurance?
No-fault insurance in Florida requires all drivers to purchase auto insurance that includes personal injury protection and property damage liability benefits. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) will be able to pay (the insured) medical bills, no matter who is at fault for an auto accident. This will only cover up to the amount stated in your policy, while the minimum coverage limit for this is $10,000.
Here is an example of how pip insurance in Florida works. Let’s say that you choose the minimum coverage of $10,000. Expect Personal Injury Protection in FL to pay:
- 80% of your medical bills
- 60% towards lost wages, due to not being able to work
- 100% of replacement costs
Personal injury protection also should provide you with a $5,000 in the case of a death. This would be put into action if a driver dies due to an automobile accident. PIP claims MUST be made within 14 days of an accident.
Personal injury protection in Florida also covers your children, other members in your household, and passengers who do not have any PIP insurance (as long as they aren’t a vehicle owner). If you are a passenger in someone else’s vehicle and are covered with your own PIP, you will be covered as well. In addition, anyone that is riding in your car that has proper PIP protection will receive coverage under their own PIP for any injuries sustained.
Where does No-Fault Insurance fit into my auto insurance policy?
Personal Injury Protection is added to auto insurance policies in Florida. It will kick in and pay the insured persons after an accident has occurred, no matter who caused the accident. You are also required to purchase Property Damage Liability (PDL) benefits. PDL is needed if you damage someone else’s vehicle or property in an accident. The minimum amount of coverage for this is also $10,000.
If you find out the at-fault driver does not have the required limits, you (the insured) will need Uninsured Motorists Coverage. It is not a requirement, but without any of this coverage, you can expect to pay big bucks out of your own pocket.
Unlike other states, Florida does not require you to purchase Bodily Injury Liability. This would pay costs of injuries to other drivers and passengers if the accident is found to be your fault. All Florida auto insurance policies must be purchased insurers that are licensed to conduct business in Florida.
In conclusion, No-Fault insurance in the state of Florida will protect and pay for the insured if they are in any type of accident. After No Fault coverage is depleted, the insured can look to their medical payments coverage. If the opposing person in an accident has none or has exhausted their limits, Uninsured Motorist can cover the rest.